Agios Gerasimos - The patron saint of Kefalonia
Agios Gerasimos is the patron saint of the island. On its feast day, the monastery is swarming with pilgrims.
According to tradition, he was born in Trikala of Corinthia and was a member of the famous Notaras family. He became a monk and
spent twelve years in the Holy Land and five years in Zakynthos. He came to Kefalonia in 1560 and stayed in the cave of the same
name, south of Argostoli. Later, he founded the monastery and took residence there until his death on the 16th of August, 1579. Two years
later, on the 20th October, 1581, his relics were placed inside the monastery. He was canonized in 1622. At the courtyard, there is a big
plane tree and a well, which is said to have been dug by the saint himself. Inside, there is a trap-door where he is said to have
spent the greater part of his life. On the 16th of August and the 20th of October, big festivals and processions take place. Many
miracles are connected to the saint's relics and icon.
The Monastery of Our Lady Themata
Built during the 11th century nearby the village of Agia Efimia, in the middle of a verdant forest, on the slopes of the second highest mountain of Kefalonia, Agia Dinati. According
to popular stories, the people of the island where praying the miraculous icon of the Virgin Themata (meaning “matters” in Greek) to ask solutions for their problems.
The Monastery of Panagia Atrou
The Monastery of Panagia Atrou is dedicated to the Virgin Mary and is standing at an altitude of 500 meters, on the top of a
green hill, a few kilometers of the village of Poros. First built during the 8th century, it is the oldest monastery of Kefalonia
and is supposed to have been destroyed and rebuilt 17 times. The monastery celebrates its feast day on the 8th of September.
The Church of the Virgin Mary Lagouvarda
Situated in the village of Markopoulos, the church of the Virgin Mary Lagouvarda was built on the site where a monastery used
to stand and which had been destroyed by the Turks. Urban legend says that in 1705 the monastery was attacked by pirates and the
frighten nuns prayed the Virgin to be changed into snakes in order to escape from the cruelty of the pirates. Their prayers where
answered and, at the sight of the snakes, the pirates ran away; since then, the nuns-snakes return each year to the monastery, bringing
good luck and prosperity to the village. This legend explains the phenomenon that happened every August the 15th, on the Virgin Mary’s
feast day: a large number of harmless snakes come around the monastery just for this day and then disappear.
The town of Sami is built at the foot of the Agioi Fanendoi and Palaiokastro hills. Excavations have brought to light parts
of the two citadels and the Cyclopean fortification walls of the ancient city which stood north of the present town. It had
fortification walls with 22 entrances, was 3,400 acres in length, and 377.6 acres in area. The excavation site also includes
parts of an ancient aquaduct, traces of an ancient theatre, buildings, a part of a Roman edifice known as "Rakospito", and
three 3d century BC tombs. There are also numerous findings on display in the Archaeological Museum of Argostoli. Ancient
Sami was a prosperous and powerful town. It was founded by Agaios, son of Arkadia's king Lykourgos. It had been settled since
the Paleolithic times. During classical and Hellenistic times Sami flourished because of the growth of trade and the exploitation
of mount Ainos' timber. Thucydides speaks of the four cities of Kefalonia of which Sami was one. The citadels were built during the
Hellenistic period. Ruins of ancient Sami are also preserved in the contemporary town of Sami.
The Archaeological Museum
In the chambers of the Archaeological Museum of Argostoli, one can admire findings during excavations on the island. Some of the
exhibits are the findings from the Mycenaean Tums of Mazarakata and Metaxata, sculpts, pots from the prehistoric and the post-mycenaean
era, tombstones, coins, seals, small objects and copper weapons. The exhibits are dated back to geometric and the ancient era, the
classical period, the hellenistic, the roman period and the byzantine era. The most significant of the exhibits are a bronze head of
the 3rd century BC and the sign "Tripis Damatri Ke Kora " of the 6th - 7th century BC, dedicated to goddess Demeter and her daughter
Persephone. The sign was found in the location of ancient Krani.
Korgialenio Historical and Folk Museum
Korgialenio Historical and Folk Museum is situated in the center of Argostoli. It was established in 1966, in an area of 300
sq. m. The Museum exhibits the local costumes, furniture and embroidery of Kefalonia. Other exhibits includes heirlooms and other
ecclesiastic items, pictures, paintings, maps, manuscripts, coins, jewels, silver and metal craft works and much more. In a special
chamber in the museum's basement, the Historical Archives of Kefalonia display historical manuscripts from the 16th-19th centuries,
depicting several historical periods. The building also houses the Library of the same name.
The Ecclesiastical Museum of Apostle Andreas of Milapedia
The museum is housed in the buildings of the Monastery of Milapedia, in the village of Perata. It contains an interesting and
rich collection of ecclesiastical exhibits.
The Natural History Museum
Established by the Society for the Protection of the Environment of the islands of Kefalonia and Ithaca, the Natural History
Museum is located in the village of Davgata. This museum was founded in order to preserve the natural environment of Kefalonia and
Ithaca and make people care about it and protect it. Precious and interesting information about the fauna and flora of both islands
Kefalonia...your ideal holiday destination...